This series of three videos produced by the National Library of Medicine provides essential tools for searching PubMed most effectively.
Topics covered include using the MeSH database to find targeted search terms, using the advanced search feature to build complex searches, and narrowing results with filters.
Additional PubMed videos are available on the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) YouTube Channel.
Search strategies from the National Library of Medicine's Directory of Topic-Specific PubMed Queries.
Compendium of Evidence-Based Interventions and Best Practices for HIV Prevention- The Compendium is a composition or collection of HIV interventions in the form of info sheets. Info sheets are categorized by Evidence-Based Interventions (EBIs) or Evidence-Informed Interventions (EIs).
Health Evidence- Access to 8,127 quality-rated systematic reviews evaluating the effectiveness and cost-effectiveness of public health interventions, including cost data. We search the published literature and compile public health relevant reviews -- eliminating your need to search and screen individual databases.
Health Care Innovations Exchange-The U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) created the Health Care Innovations Exchange to speed the implementation of new and better ways of delivering health care.The Innovations Exchange offered health professionals and researchers the opportunity to share, learn about, and ultimately adopt evidence-based innovations and tools suitable for a range of health care settings and populations. The Web site, which used robust taxonomic tagging, had searchable and browsable profiles of innovations in service delivery and policy; records of practical tools helpful in assessing, promoting and improving the quality of health care (known as QualityTools); and, articles and resources about innovation and adoption.
Evidence-Based Practices Resource Center- This new Evidence-Based Practices Resource Center aims to provide communities, clinicians, policy-makers and others in the field with the information and tools they need to incorporate evidence-based practices into their communities or clinical settings. The Resource Center contains a collection of scientifically-based resources for a broad range of audiences, including Treatment Improvement Protocols, toolkits, resource guides, clinical practice guidelines, and other science-based resources. The retooled EBPRC neither accepts open submissions from outside program developers nor rates individual programs.
Evidence-Based Cancer Control Programs- The EBCCP (formerly RTIPs) website is a searchable database of evidence-based cancer control programs and is designed to provide program planners and public health practitioners easy and immediate access to program materials.
What works for Health -The research underlying What Works for Health is based on a model of population health that emphasizes the many factors that can make communities healthier places to live, learn, work, and play. In What Works for Health, analysts review and assess research to rate the effectiveness of a broad variety of strategies (i.e., policies, programs, systems & environmental changes) that can affect health through changes to:
Strategies focused on specific diseases or conditions, treatment or other clinical protocol, and federal funding initiatives are generally not included in What Works for Health.
Health.gov- Evidence-based resources are published reviews of studies and interventions to improve health. We’ve organized them into intuitive topics so you can easily find what you’re looking for. Pick a topic you’re interested in and explore relevant resources that can help you work to achieve Healthy People 2030 objectives.
CDC Compendium of Effective Fall Interventions-This collection of effective fall interventions is designed to help public health practitioners, senior service providers, clinicians, and others who want to address older adult falls in their community.
Arthritis Appropriate Physical Activity and Self-Management Education Interventions- There currently are a number of arthritis appropriate interventions available and it may be challenging to decide which ones are a good fit for your community or organization.
A registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
A bibliographic database that provides a highly concentrated source of reports of randomized controlled trials. Note that they do not contain the full text of the article.
Eli Lilly Clinical Trial Registry
Information about clinical trials and observational / non-interventional studies sponsored by Eli Lilly & Company.
European Union Clinical Trials Register
Search for protocol and results information on: interventional clinical trials that are conducted in the European Union (EU) and the European Economic Area (EEA) as well as clinical trials conducted outside the EU / EEA that are linked to European paediatric-medicine development.
GlaxoSmithKline (GSK) Clinical Study Register
Provides an easily accessible repository of data from GSK-Sponsored Clinical Studies, supplementing communication in journals, at scientific meetings, in letters to healthcare professionals, and in approved prescribing information.
Health Services Research Projects in Progress (HSRProj)
Information about ongoing health services research and public health projects.
The ISRCTN registry is a primary clinical trial registry recognized by WHO and the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) that accepts all clinical research studies (whether proposed, ongoing or completed), providing content validation and curation and the unique identification number necessary for publication. All study records in the database are freely accessible and searchable.
National Registry of Evidence-based Programs and Practices (NREPP)
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration’s (SAHMSA) National Registry of Evidence-based Programs and Practices (NREPP) promotes the adoption of scientifically established behavioral health interventions.
The NIH Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tools provides access to reports, data, and analyses of NIH research activities, including information on NIH expenditures and the results of NIH supported research.
PROSPERO is an international database of prospectively registered systematic reviews in health and social care. PROSPERO aims to provide a comprehensive listing of systematic reviews registered at inception to help avoid unplanned duplication and enable comparison of reported review methods with what was planned in the protocol.
Trials Register of Promoting Health Interventions (TRoPHI)
Covers trials of interventions in health promotion and public health worldwide, including both randomized and non-randomized controlled trials.
WHO International Clinical Trials Registry Platform (ICTRP)
Contains the trial registration data sets from the following registries: Australian New Zealand Clinical Trials Registry, Chinese Clinical Trial Registry, EU Clinical Trials Register, ISRCTN, and Netherlands National Trial Register.
EthOS (Electronic Theses Online Service)
EThOS is the UK’s national thesis service which aims to maximise the visibility and availability of the UK’s doctoral research theses.
It demonstrates the quality of UK research, and supports the UK Government’s open access principle that publications resulting from publicly-funded research should be made freely available for all researchers, providing opportunities for further research.
The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). We support electronic publishing and open access to scholarship in order to enhance the sharing of knowledge worldwide.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive information for historical and current publications as well as direct links to the full document, when available.
An online repository of policies, tools, case studies, and other resources to support data governance, management, exchange, and use throughout the federal government
The Office of the Federal Register (OFR) of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), and the U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO) jointly administer the FederalRegister.gov website. The website was developed to make it easier for citizens and communities to understand the regulatory process and to participate in Government decision-making.
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. HathiTrust contains a collection of U.S. Federal Documents via the HathiTrust Federal Government Documents Registry. This collection is a work in progress, and is updated regularly to add and remove content.
A union catalog of millions of records that represent open access resources. This catalog was built through harvesting from open access collections worldwide using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH). Today, OAIster includes more than 50 million records that represent digital resources from more than 2,000 contributors.
OpenGrey, System for Information on Grey Literature in Europe, is your open access to 1 014 872 bibliographical references of grey literature (paper) produced in Europe and allows you to export records and locate the documents. Examples of grey (gray) literature include technical or research reports, doctoral dissertations, some conference papers, some official publications, and other types of grey literature. OpenGrey covers Science, Technology, Biomedical Science, Economics, Social Science and Humanities.
This resource covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. PAIS International is the current file covering 1972 to present, and PAIS Archive includes the content from printed volumes published 1915-1976.
United Nations Official Document System
The Official Document System (ODS) is an online database of UN documents that was first launched in 1993 and updated in 2016. ODS has full-text, born-digital UN documents published from 1993 onward, including documents of the Security Council, the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and their subsidiaries, as well as administrative issuances and other documents.